Kenya and Somalia signed a Memorandum of Understanding on their common Maritime Boundary agreement.


Halkaan ka akhri

Nairobi 07.04.2009 – Kenya and Somalia have Tuesday signed a Memorandum of Understanding on their common Maritime Boundary.

The agreement was signed by Foreign Affairs Minister Hon. Moses Wetang’ula on behalf of Kenya, while the Minister for National Planning and International Cooperation of the Republic of Somalia, Hon. Abdirahman Abdishakur Warsame signed the accord on behalf of Somalia.

The Memorandum is pursuant to a United Nations requirement that all countries with naval boundaries sign delineation agreements and lodge them with the United Nations by 13th May 2009 and it allows each of the signatories to lodge their documents separately to the relevant body. 

The signing ceremony which took place at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs was witnessed amongst others by Amb. Longve Hans Wilhelm, Special Advisor in the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Ms. Rina Kristmoen from the Embassy of Norway in Nairobi. 

Also present were the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ Permanent Secretary Mr. Thuita Mwangi, Director for Political Affairs Amb. Ben Ogutu and the Head of Legal Division Mr. James Kihwaga.

Source:    KBC NEWS:

%d bloggers like this: